Living in Kufstein

Kufstein

Kufstein is the capital of the district with the same name in the east of the Tyrol. With more than 18,000 inhabitants Kufstein, near the border with Bavaria, is the second biggest town in the Tyrol. Numerous culture centers such as Innsbruck, Salzburg and Munich and their airports are easily accessible from Kufstein. Kufstein offers good connection to the international road and railway network.

The landmark of this historic city, the Kufstein Fortress, is enthroned on a rock 90 m above the old city looking at the river Inn. Kufstein is located at 500 m above sea level, framed by the Wilde Kaiser mountain range and within easy distance of the Wilde Kaiser-Brixental ski area and the ski resort Kitzbühel.

The centre of Kufstein and the walkway along the river Inn offer an abundance of shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. Kufstein is known for its special blend of traditional and modern life, cultural diversity, prosperous companies and its youthful atmosphere with many different types of schools and a university.

For more information about the city of Kufstein, visit www.kufstein.at.

Leben in Kufstein

2014_15__Kufstein_ISK-224_web.jpg

Kufstein ist die Bezirkshauptstadt des gleichnamigen Bezirkes im Tiroler Unterland. Sie ist mit über 18.000 Einwohnern die zweitgrößte Stadt des Bundeslandes Tirol und grenzt direkt an den Freistaat Bayern. Zahlreiche Kulturzentren, u.a. Innsbruck, Salzburg und München und deren Flughäfen sind von Kufstein aus leicht erreichbar. Eine Anbindung an das internationale Bahn- und Straßennetz ist gegeben.

  
   
Das Wahrzeichen der geschichtsträchtigen Stadt – die Festung Kufstein – thront oberhalb der Altstadt auf einem 90 m hohen Felsen direkt am Fluss Inn. Kufstein selbst befindet sich auf rund 500 Meter Meereshöhe, umrahmt vom Kaisergebirge und in unmittelbarer Nähe zur Skiwelt Wilder Kaiser-Brixental / Skigebiet Kitzbüheler Alpen.

Direkt im Zentrum und an der Innpromenade ist eine Vielfalt an Geschäften, Restaurants, Cafés und Bars zu finden. Kufstein zeichnet sich aus durch einen besonderen Mix aus Tradition und Moderne, kulturelle Vielfalt, prosperierende Unternehmen sowie sein jugendliches Flair als Bildungs- und Hochschulstadt. 

Weitere Infos zur Stadt Kufstein finden Sie unter www.kufstein.at.